Beetroot, avo, feta and almond cous cous

So I made my second attempt at the cous cous left in my cupboard. We came back from Hogsback on Sunday evening and the kitchen was rather bare aside from a massive basket of lemons. I did find some beetroot that has been lurking in the fridge for a while. Soon I will be harvesting the beetroot in the garden and that will be very exciting. After rummaging around a found some spring onions on their last leg and some avos (these are the same avos I got from Howick for R17 for a MASSIVE bag – see avo salad for directions). Coupled with some feta and almonds lurking around, this is what I concocted…

Ingredients

  • 1 cup wholewheat cous cous
  • 4 beetroot
  • Drizzle of honey
  • Rocket from the garden
  • 1 avo
  • Spring onions
  • 1 round of feta
  • Toasted almonds (I would have preferred sesame seeds for this dish, but had run out – I recommend that you do it with sesame seeds instead)

Dressing ingredients

  • 3 cloves garlic (roasted)
  • 1 finger of ginger
  • 2 green chillies (optional)
  • 3 Tsp olive oil
  • 1.5 lemons squeezed

I chopped the beetroot into roastable cubes. I love the way beetroot stains everything and drips gorily down my wrists and into my sleeve. It did however make me miss the wooden chopping boards in Hogsback as my torn plastic turned pink and the beetroot blood dripped through the places where someone sliced right through the plastic with a sharp knife. One day when I have a disposable income, I will buy a new chopping board. Anyway… back to the meal.

Drizzle olive oil and honey over the beetroot bits and roast in the oven. While it is roasting, brown the seeds or nuts (I would definitely have used sesame seeds had I had any). Pick, wash and coarsely chop the rocket. Chop the avos into the shape you like. And chop the spring onions.

For the dressing… You can use fresh garlic, but I am a sucker for roasted garlic. Chuck the unpeeled garlic cloves into the dish you are roasting the beetroot for around 10 minutes or until they are soft. Peel and grate the ginger and chop the chillies. Pound these together with the roasted garlic. Add the olive oil and lemon juice and mix.

I am not quite sure how to react to the cous cous – I am not sure whether to marvel at the sheer convenience of it all, or whether to distrust it in the same way I look sceptically at instant oats. So I poured hot water over the cous cous and, voila, 10 minutes later it was ready.

Then I chucked it all together in a bowl and ate it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Salad and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Beetroot, avo, feta and almond cous cous

  1. sarah says:

    have you tried roasted beetroot with orange segments? a revelation of deliciousness

    • dugs: an orange bag filled with avos for 17 bucks is definitely an avo deal! if you are going to try the dish i definitely think you should use sesame seeds instead if you have them
      sarah: thanks for the tip. will definitely give it a go.

  2. dagmar says:

    that sounds like an avo deal….. they were R20 for 5 at fruit & veg today. lucky i bought some beetroot so will try this recipe – it sounds deliciously easy. thanks

Leave a Reply

