Danish feta, rocket and sundried tomato stuffed mushrooms, with rosemary yellow sweet potato, and watercress salad

My sister is in town with my 3 month old niece. She is also vegetarian so I spent a good while wandering around Everfresh looking for all sorts of fresh vegetables to play with. Our fridge has been a little bare of late so it is fantastic to see it stuffed full of brightly coloured vegetables to gibber.

Ingredients for the mushrooms:

  • 3 large mushrooms (or however many you are cooking for)
  • Danish feta
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • Rocket
  • Sundried tomatoes
  • Sage
  • Butter and a dash olive oil

Danish feta is really cheap at PnP at the moment. I think it is because it is on the brink of turning, so after a few days I had just under half a tub to use before it was lost to the world. Pop the feta, garlic, rocket and sundried tomatoes into a little blender and grind together. You could use a wide variety of herbs, but as you know (and are getting bored of me reiterating) I have more rocket in the garden than I know what to do with.

Peel the outer skin off the mushrooms. I have no idea why. I learned this from my mother and never thought to ask. Pop the mushrooms in a baking dish and stuff with the feta, rocket, sundried tomato mush. It is very rich so be careful not to put too much on that will drown out the mushrooms. Get some butter and a drizzle of olive oil and add some sage (also growing nicely in my garden). Bake in the oven at around 180 degrees at the same time as the yellow sweet potato. Remove from the oven while the mushrooms are still juicy.

Ingredients for sweet potato:

  • 1 large sweet potato
  • Rosemary
  • Course salt and black pepper
  • Olive oil

You could use any sweet potato, but these yellow ones are around at the moment and really are such an impressive colour. Cut the sweet potato into wedges. Drizzle with olive oil. I like to get my hands in there and make sure the olive oil is evenly rubbed over the pieces of potato so they don’t dry out. Add the rosemary and some course salt and ground black pepper to taste. Roast in the oven at the same time as the mushrooms.

Ingredients for salad:

  • Bunch of watercress
  • Spring onions
  • Baby tomatoes
  • Almonds
  • Fresh lemon juice, olive oil and  balsamic vinegar to dress

Another delicious phenomenon at the moment is watercress. It grows all over the place like a weed. A lot of the time, is picked wild and sold to places by women supplementing their income. My sister finds the leaves too furry, but I love their freshness. The rest of the salad is much like the usual salad I make.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in meal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Danish feta, rocket and sundried tomato stuffed mushrooms, with rosemary yellow sweet potato, and watercress salad

  1. molly says:

    I’ve had supper but I’m droooooooooling ….

  2. Wendy Watson says:

    Looks fabulous. Will try it when I get BIG mushrooms at the Pretoria Boeremark on Saturday. Fabulous site….

  3. Dakhina says:

    Hey Rike and Dean!! I made this today…will send a pic. via Facebook….though they didnt look as beautiful as yours 😀 but they tasted very good..thanks for the recipe!! I have always made stuffed mushrooms with cottage cheese (paneer), coriander leaves, green chillies, onions and walnuts…but this tasted very nice and creamy 🙂
    keep up the good work of cooking 😀
    take care!

Leave a Reply

