Lemon and buttermilk cake

On Saturday I had an uncontrollable urge to bake. Not having much time, and taking inspiration from a bunch of different recipes, I wanted to make a cake that would be incredibly quick to make. We are still working through a basket full of lemons, so I thought, what the hell, a lemon cake.

Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cups sugar (I used brown as that is what I had)
  • Grated lemon rind from 1 lemon
  • Juice from half a lemon
  • 1 1/4 cups flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • Half a cup of buttermilk (you can also use milk or yoghurt)

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees.

I braced myself and cracked the eggs (I find egg cracking truly one of the more revolting things in the kitchen… the raw goo… the dripping… the sticking to things… and the smell… heinous). Then I added the sugar and beat together until fluffy. I do not have an electric mixer so I used a whisk. I like to think that there is something far more special about mixing by hand, but maybe thats just to compensate for the lack of appropriate technology. Anyway, it seems to work fine manually (even though I have been emphatically told that nothing can compare with electric beaters). Add the grated lemon rind and lemon juice and beat again.

Pop the butter and the buttermilk (or milk or yoghurt) into a small pot and heat on a low heat.

When the batter is nice and fluffy, sieve the dry ingredients into the mix. Fold the dry ingredients into the batter with a spatula. This keeps the mixture fluffy.

By now the butter should have melted into the buttermilk nicely. Add this to the mixture and fold / mix in gently while still warm.

If you don’t have the floppy silicone cake tin (what is the correct word in this context… it is not a tin really is it?), grease it up with some butter / oil / spray and cook (spray n cook freaks me out a little, I am not sure why). Pour the batter into the receptacle and pop it into the oven. My cake baked incredibly quickly (just over 15mins).

While it is cooling, mix a cup of icing sugar with the juice of the other half of the lemon and mix. You may need to add a drop of water as well if its not thinning nicely. Drizzle over the cake. My cake wasn’t even completely cool when I put the icing on. I was too greedy to wait.

The cake was very light and fluffy and surprisingly not all that sweet. All in all it took less than an hour from the first egg crack (cringe) to the gibber. I suggest serving it with homemade lemon cordial.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Cake and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lemon and buttermilk cake

  1. molly says:

    Seriously, how has no one else commented on this yet?

    Y.U.M.

    My lemon tree has just produced the last lemons after the GLUT we’ve been battling for the last few months and I can’t think of a better recipe to use the last of their lemony goodness.
    I will be baking this soon. Stay tuned.

    Loving your work here – recipes, photos and writing are fabtastic xx

  2. molly says:

    Oh and, I envy your bundt 🙂

Leave a Reply

