Broccoli and rosemary creamy pasta

So, my camera is fixed (although I have to change the way I take pics as the reason it was broken was because it had corroded internally from steam…) and we have a 5 plate gas stove in the place we are renting in Woodstock, but Telkom hasn’t connected our ADSL line yet (they cancelled the order by mistake…), so I have not been online enough to post anything. But I have been cooking.

I was bumming internet from my parents and listening to Al Jazeera and thinking about my imminent trip to Egypt (I have been invited to a workshop on visual methodologies at the intersection of art-activism-academia – so excited), and I thought I would quickly upload one of the recipes I have been collecting over the past 2 weeks.

This was a quick meal I threw together at the end of a crazy day. It is not an especially fancy dish, but is a quick and yummy fix. It also reminds me of Prague. In the late 90s I was in Prague trying to find food as a vegetarian. Most of the restaurants boasted menus of combinations of 4 meats. Or were completely out of our rond price range. Tucked away, somewhere near the student res we were renting a room in, was an Italian restaurant where the only vegetarian meal on the menu was something similar to this one. I have been making versions of this dish ever since.

Ingredients:

  • Half an onion finely chopped
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic
  • blob of butter
  • 1 head of broccoli
  • bunch of rosemary
  • 1 tub of cream
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 round of feta / blue cheese (optional)
  • half a glass of white wine (optional)
  • Pasta of your choice about a third of a packet, cooked with salt and a dash of olive oil

Chop the onion and garlic finely and fry at a medium heat in butter until soft and glassy. Add the rosemary to fry gently with the onion and garlic. Wash and coursely chop the broccoli and add to the pot. If you want to use wine, add it at this stage. Allow the onion, garlic and rosemary (and wine) to steam through the broccoli for a short while before adding the cream. Allow the cream to bubble up and the turn the heat down and cook until the cream thickens and reduces. If you are going to use cheese, add it now. It will thicken the sauce. Taste it before adding salt as the cheese is quite salty already.

Cook the pasta – you can use any kind. We happened to have shells that tend to catch the creamyness nicely in their folds. By the time the pasta is done, the sauce should have reduced and melted the cheese. Mix the two together gently and serve with a salad or a salad. I would suggest a balsamic dressing based salad as it goes nicely with the cream.

More soon when we finally get online, or I manage to bum another connection along the way some time…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in meal, Pasta and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

