Egg curry

I know this is a bit of a bizarre recipe for someone who has a somewhat tenuous relationship with the egg (or chicken period as a friend and I called them in our youth). I usually tend to avoid the snotty creatures. There is only one place where I have eaten eggs that do not repeat on me in little smelly burps. I think its because the chickens run around the kiwi plants, jolling with the pigs. Our friends in hogsback have a bunch of hens so have fresh eggs daily. It is also a humbling experience to see the connection between food and its origin.

Eating an egg that has just been scooped from under the chicken’s bum, is nothing like facing those insipid pale piles of soggy scrambles. These yolks are bright and when cracked, stand a few centimetres in the air. On the last visit I decided to boil some eggs and take them home and curry them for the captain (who absolutely thrives on an egg and cheese based existence). Ian gave me his recipe which I tweaked only slightly (also see Ian’s dhal from Mrs Marie).

The first set of pictures show the chickens cruising their hood, herding each other and posturing between the apple trees.

Ingredients:

  • 8 hard boiled eggs
  • Mustard oil (or any veg oil you may have)
  • 1 onion
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • knob of ginger
  • 1 tsp chilli powder
  • 2 tsp masala
  • 1/2 tsp tumeric
  • 1 tsp dhanya powder
  • 1 tsp jeera powder
  • 1/2 tsp garam masala
  • 6 medium tomatoes
  • Curry leaves, mustard seeds in oil (to add in the end)
  • Mint or dhanya to garnish

Boil the eggs, peel and leave aside to cool. Boil the kettle and pour hot water over the tomatoes to loosen the skins. Evenly slice an onion. Crush the garlic and grate the ginger. I have recently been introduced to mustard oil and it is delicious stuff. I am not sure where you can find it here as someone brought me a bottle from India and I haven’t had a look yet. I’ll let you know when I find some.

Fry the onion in the mustard oil or any other oil you have. While the onions fry, peel and chop the tomatoes. Add the garlic and ginger once the onions have softened and gone glassy. Add the spices and fry for a short while before adding the tomatoes. Let the tomato reduce a little. Add the eggs. You can cut them in half or put them in whole. I put them in whole, but added a little slice in the side so the curry sauce would flavour the inside of the egg as well. Cook for some time. I know this sounds vague, but I guess its around 20mins. Its hard to tell – keep an eye on it so the tomato doesn’t reduce into nothing.

Once the curry is done, fry some mustard seeds in some oil until they pop. Add some fresh curry leaves to wilt slightly. Pour over and mis through the curry. Garnish with fresh dhanya or mint or both. Serve with rotis and some form of yoghurt and any chutneys or atchars you may have.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Featured recipe, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Egg curry

  1. Pingback: Thai son-in-law eggs | gibberlicious

Leave a Reply

