Dhanya chutney

I have been gibbering it up in Cairo for the past week; stuffing my face part with food that is common all around this part of the world, and that shares many dishes with greek food as well (more on this later). The only thing I am missing is some green chilli. I have just found some images of a dhanya chutney I made a while back lying around my computer, that I thought I would share. The chutney is inspired by Indian Delights (see also brinjal chutney) and a dhanya chutney my mother makes.

Ingredients:

  • 1 bunch of dhanya (coriander)
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic
  • 2 green chillies
  • Half a cup of roasted almonds (or peanuts or cashews – my mum uses peanut butter)
  • 2 Tbsp or heavy handed pour of mustard oil (you could use olive oil)
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 peeled tomato
  • 2 tsp jeera (cumin)
  • Salt and pepper

Boil the kettle and pour hot water over the tomato to soak the skin loose. While the skin is loosening, dry roast the nuts and clean the dhanya. Coarsely chop the garlic and chilli and put in a blender. Coarsely chop the tomato and dhanya. Add all the rest of the ingredients in the blender and blend. I ate the whole dish in 2 days in various different forms: with crackers, bits of cheese and on sandwiches and even spaghetti. It would be great with curries, on potatoes, or anything really. Just eat it with a spoon.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Side dish and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

