Wholewheat cous cous with roast butternut, olives, sundried tomatoes, feta, nuts and baby spinach

Another quickish meal for the starving. I made this the other night and haven’t gotten round to post it. I know I have said in the past that I am not the biggest fan of cous cous, but it was on sale, and it being so easy to throw together, I thought I would give it another chance.

I wish I could remember the details of the evening I made it so I would have some kind of witty anecdote, but it probably just involved a fire and Futurama.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup wholewheat cous cous
  • I small butternut
  • A palmful of sundried tomato quarters
  • A handful of calamata olives
  • Baby spinach (you could also use rocket)
  • 1 round of feta
  • Handful of roasted nuts

Dressing:

  • Juice of a lemon
  • Dash of balsamic
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • Salt and pepper

Peel and cube the butternut and roast in olive oil, salt and pepper. Make sure the butternut gets a bit crispy. If it is undercooked it can be quite mushy and soggy, and not great for a salad.

While the cous cous is soaking, coursely chop the sundried tomatoes and olives. Roast the nuts, and make the dressing. Compile the salad.

I was craving yoghurt so we made a quick tzatziki to go with the dish. This involved peeling, seeding and grating a section of cucumber, and mixing it with some yoghurt, salt and pepper. We have this amazing dried mint from Cyprus, but using fresh mint is also great.

Vegan version: leave out the feta and don’t serve with yoghurt (it will be just as yummy)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Salad and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

