Sundried tomato and pistachio pesto

After waddling into the new year, wishing for a belly trolley, I decided I had better squeeze a few more recipes in before I get sidetracked with the imminent pterodactchild. I had hoped to kick off the year with some pics from our predominantly veg holiday feasting, but all the images are in my cousin’s camera on the other side of the world, so as soon as I get them I’ll post them.

In the meantime, I thought I would start the year with some pesto. As I have mentioned before, pregglingtonville has made me very food lethargic, so quick fixes have been my saviour. This generally involves foraging for things in the cupboard and fridge and hoping they ultimately all work together. This pesto takes very little time to make and can be turned into many things, like this creamy pesto pasta.

Ingredients:

  • Sundried tomato quarters (I used one Ina Paarmans sachet, including the juices)
  • 2/3 cloves of garlic
  • 1 red chilli
  • Handful of basil (very excitedly from the garden)
  • 100g pistachios (I have also used almonds, sunflower seeds and cashew nuts in previous incarnations)
  • Handful of grated parmesan (I have used mature cheddar as effectively in the past)
  • Salt and pepper
  • Heavy handed dashes of olive oil to keep it lubricated

Shell and dry roast the pistachios. Then all you basically do is put everything in a blender. I like to keep the pesto a little crunchy so I don’t blend it until it is completely smooth.

Vegan version: just leave out the cheese.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Side dish and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

