Chocolate cupcakes

There is nothing super exciting about these cupcakes, but they are easy to make and I get to show off my new birthday silicon cupcake holders. It was my birthday so I also baked a carrot cake. I also baked lemon cupcakes with gooseberry icing, but they weren’t all that succesful (they looked like deformed breasts with gooseberry nipples) so I will only post them when I have worked out the kinks.

Cupcake batter ingredients (adapted from this recipe):

  • 2 eggs
  • 125g sugar
  • 125g butter
  • 125g self-raising flour
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 4 heaped tablespoons cocoa powder
  • enough milk to make a dropping consistency

Pre heat the oven to 180 degrees.

Ideally you should cream the butter and sugar before adding the eggs. I was in a rush so I just chucked everything together and mixed. Sieve the flour and cocoa together and mix through. I added red food colouring as I was interested to see how red velvet cupcakes get their colour. Add milk until the batter is soft enough to drop nicely when added to the cupcake cups. The batter should make exactly 12 cupcakes. The next time I make them I will add a bunch of good quality chocolate chips so there are gooey melty bits in the middle.

Bake for 15-20mins depending on the kind of oven you have. Let the cupcakes cool before icing.

Icing ingredients:

  • 300g icing sugar
  • 2 tablespoons cocoa
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • milk
  • chocolate vermicelli for decoration

Sieve the icing sugar and cocoa and mix through with the butter. Add milk until the icing is a good spreading thickness.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Cake and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

