Roasted sweetcorn, red onion, parsley and sour cream salad

What is it about tasty mush at the moment? It seems to be all I am capable of in the kitchen. I thought a jaunty piece of parsley would help make it look less mushy, but it still looks like miscellaneous goop. It tasted great though, and I decided to include it due to the insistence from my lovely dinner guest, Adi. The idea sort of came from an even mushier version made by my friend the Swedish stay-at-home dad and house-husband extraordinaire, but I couldn’t remember what he had used, and my internet wasn’t working and my phone was out of batteries, so I resorted to improvising.

Ingredients:

  • 3 roasted sweetcorn cobs
  • half a chopped red onion
  • 1 clove fresh garlic
  • 1 green chilli
  • handful of chopped parsley
  • 2 tablespoons sour cream
  • lots of salt and pepper

Roast the sweetcorn in a 180 degree oven for about 20-30 minutes. They can go in straight on the rack. Cut the kernels off the cob. Crush the garlic and finely chop the chilli and onion. Rinse and finely chop the parsley. Add the sour cream and mix. Season with a lot of salt and black pepper.

I made this as part of a bigger meal of salady things to stuff into pitas. I also made brinjal and yoghurt, and baby spinach salad.

This entry was posted in Salad, Side dish and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

