Pancake puffs

10I grew up with pancakes once a week. Often eaten in front of a tiny black and white TV in the 30mins we were allowed to watch a week. The Simpsons, He-Man or Thundercats. Pick one. I still love making pancakes but it does take a while to stand over the stove and make them individually, especially given that I can probably eat 6/7 to myself. 

This much quicker pancake type recipe was taught to me by my dear Swedish dad friend who has abandoned us and moved back to Swedelandia. I don’t know what the real name is, but basically it is pancake batter puffed in a muffin tray.

Ingredients (makes 12):

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup of cake flour
  • 1 cup of milk
  • pinch of salt

Put the ingredients into a jar/jug and mix (I don’t even bother to sieve the flour). Share the batter out into a greased 12 cup muffin tray. Put the muffin tray into a cold oven. Switch the oven on to 240 degrees (thermofan if you have) and bake for 30 minutes. It is amazing how they puff up. Every time I make them I anxiously watch (without opening the oven of course) and they only seem to miraculously puff at the last second, just before I start preparing a new batch of batter. Seriously, the puffing baffles me. There is no baking powder or self-raising flour. They just puff as if by magic and are hollow inside. Perfect for stuffing.

To serve, break open the puffs while they are still warm, and fill with deliciousness such as strawberries and cream; nutella; sugar, cinnamon and lemon; syrup; homemade apricot jam; and all manner of tooth-achingly sweet toppings.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

