Black bean, green bean, dhanya, sesame seed and chilli salad

20I know most people think I am insane but I miss the humidity of Durban. I miss swimming through the air. And I miss the summery salads on our stoep in Seaview. A salad on our stoep here would often be more airborne than bellyborne this time of year.  I have been making this salad for years but I am only now managing to post it for some reason. I seem to remember it is a revision of someone else’s salad but I can’t remember whose. 

Ingredients:

  • 1 tin black beans or 1 cup boiled black beans (in this case I boiled them from raw)
  • Green beans
  • 1 bunch dhanya
  • Roasted sesame seeds

Dressing:

  • 3 Tsp olive oil
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 Tsp soy sauce
  • 1 tsp honey
  • 1 clove of garlic crushed
  • 1 green chilli crushed
  • 1 finger of ginger grated

If you can’t get a tin of black beans (which is way easier), soak the black beans overnight and then boil them for what feels like forever until they are soft. Steam the green beans. Roast the sesame seeds in. Clean the dhanya. While the beans are steaming, make the dressing. Crush the chilli, garlic and grated ginger together and add to the olive oil, lemon juice, soy sauce and honey.

After eating the salad at our house, our dear friend from Fleurmach added some rice noodles to turn the salad into a meal.

Vegan version: leave out the honey

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Salad and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

