Refried black beans, sweetcorn and dhanya salsa, avo and sour cream burritos

IMG_3121Why life are you so mad? It is at least 2 months since I first made this dish (as documented here). In the interim I have made it 3 or 4 more times, tweaking as I go along. I used to have a plethora of staple meals. Deciding what to cook was never a problem. It feels like throwing something together was effortless. I feel like past-me was way more efficient. Probably as fictitious a person as future-me who is very well-adjusted and lives a heartily balanced life. But present-me just can’t seem to remember anything I used to make… well anything really.

My sister mentioned refried beans one day, so I thought I would give it a go. I had no idea what I was doing so I pretty much guessed and improvised with what I had. It turned out surprisingly well but some day I will need to learn how to make proper tortillas because the shop ones feel a bit synthetic… like at first I wondered whether I had remembered to peel all the plastic off… But the more that is stuffed in, the less the leathery casing is noticeable.

Refried beans ingredients:

  • 1 large clove of garlic
  • 1 birdseye chilli from the garden
  • 1 smoked chilli from the Swedes
  • 1 tsp jeera powder
  • 1tsp dhanya powder
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1 tin black / kidney beans

Fry the garlic and chillies in olive oil. Add the spices and cook shortly. Add the tin of beans with the juices. Let them cook together on a medium heat while getting the other bits and pieces together. Once you have everything else ready, mash the beans and cook a little longer. This is probably not at all how you are supposed to make refried beans, but it seems to work and tastes good enough.

Sweetcorn and dhanya salsa / sambals ingredients:

  • Sweetcorn from 2 mielies (or a tin if that’s what you have lying around
  • 1 bunch of fresh dhanya
  • 1 spring onion
  • A handful of baby tomatoes quartered or any diced tomato (I didn’t have any for this post but have used them subsequently)
  • Dress lightly with olive oil and apple cider vinegar or lemon

Chuck everything together in a bowl.

Additional / optional ingredients:

  • Sliced avo
  • Grated cheese
  • Sour cream or minted plain yoghurt
  • Grilled / fried baby marrow with a dash of lemon
  • Grilled brinjal

Heat the wraps/tortillas in a dry pan. Layer everything and fold together. In this picture the wrap doesn’t look all that full, but with practice I realised way more could be squeezed in. Roll up your sleeves and eat.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in meal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

